top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArielle Duran

Simple Things


A life acknowledging what's to be grateful for is a life of peace. Naturally, we focus our attention on our worries and needs/wants, disregarding what we are already fortunate to have.


There are days where I am at my all-time low, stressing my current issues and circumstances. But it’s the small things that I am grateful for that bring peace back into my reality.

The other day, I realized I went my entire day without eating because my focus was on other things that seemed more important than feeding myself. Until the end of the day came along, when I physically felt weak from not taking care of myself. I had myself a peanut butter and jelly sandwich that nearly brought tears to my eyes. I even wrote a poem about it!

"Peanut butter and jelly

When you're so hungry you basically taste stale, and there's no money

Not even for the sales; you make yourself a delicious peanut butter and jelly sandwich...

With the burst of flavors, you feel fulfilled. You can never starve or blame your hunger on your bills.

I thank my taste for making the life I live a little easier to face."

I felt like that sandwich saved my life, and there was no purpose in stressing about anything because of it. Dramatic, I know. BUT that simple experience helped me realize how many more simple things in my life I am truly grateful for.

Set intentions of gratitude throughout your day to minimize the overload of stress that comes and goes. Don't wait for that Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwich to acknowledge what's to be grateful for.


bottom of page